93 thoughts on “Athletics

  1. Cooper Blanchard

    I believe in teamwork. The thought of “there is no I in team” is one hundred percent correct. No championship team has ever been just one person. Those teams always consist of a group of individuals coming together to support each other to achieve in a common goal. Whether on the court or in the classroom, teamwork is often a motivating factor to help push a group to be their best. For example, in hockey, when you score a goal, very rarely is it because individual effort, you always have someone that passed you the puck or made a good defensive play that allowed you to retrieve the puck and move up ice with it. When you score, the whole team scores, the whole bench erupts with excitement as you all work your hardest to achieve what you all want, victory. I feel as though hockey is a sport where teamwork is completely necessary for any form of success. In hockey there are always 3 forwards, 2 defencemen and a goalie on the ice at all times. A hockey team could never be truly successful without all 6 of those players working together and giving their best effort for the good of the team. A good team is like a family, they always have each other’s back in any situation, if one player gets down or starts acting/thinking negatively, it is the job of their “brothers” or “sisters” to come together and get them out of that mood, to get them back as a part of the family that will always be there for eachother through teamwork.

    Like

  2. Kyle Dinunno

    I believe that sports help bring cities, regions and nations together. Teams of all ages and demographics can come together to play with one another, with a group of people supporting them along the way. The supporters cheer on their teams, while the teams play their hardest for their supporters. Without one of the two groups, the other would be nonexistent.
    On a small-scale level, little league baseball is a massive proponent in helping towns and cities come together and bond. Going far into the playoffs creates an aura that surrounds the team, lifting the spirits of everyone supporting them. The farther your team goes in playoffs, the more supporters they get, causing a more substantial impact the team has on their community. A team that has such an enormous fan base like the United States hockey team has the ability to bring together an entire nation. The US had a matchup against a heavily favored Soviet Union team in the 1980 Winter Olympics while the Cold War was going on, which meant this game held more weight than a typical semifinals match. The winner of the game would have a massive boost for their nations’ spirits, while ruining the spirits of their enemy. With the support of an entire nation behind them, America won the monumental game 4 to 3, helping Americans forget the fact that they were in the middle of a war and allowed them to just live for a while. Whether it’s your own little league team making a deep run in the playoffs, or the US hockey team overcoming all odds to beat the Soviets, sports on all different levels bring together people of all different demographics.

    Like

  3. David Persico

    Football to many individuals is the most riveting game ever created. To me, football is that and so much more. The game changed my life. I was born with a birth defect called left hemiparesis, an ailment that limits many motor skills on the left side of my body even to this day. When i was born, the doctors were not positive that Id even be able to walk. As I write this essay today, I am happy to state that i not only walk, I run. Football not only strengthened my physical abilities to levels far beyond any doctor’s expectation, it gave me the confidence that I needed to persevere in life. When I was 8 years old, I had the desire to try football. However, due to my physical limitations, my family was reluctant to allow me to play. After a great deal of convincing, I stepped onto the Edgewood Eagles practice field for the first time. Early on into my first year as an Eagle, I earned a starting spot. When many people quit as a result of the brutal conditioning workouts in the dead heat of August, I pushed myself to the limit and refused to break as many others did. As the years went by, I grew with the game and the game grew me into a stronger person with every play, every down, and every championship we captured. My coaches taught me more than football techniques to help me succeed on the field, they taught me valuable life lesson to help me succeed in life. Without the game of football, I wouldn’t be the man i am today.

    Like

  4. Tommy Yong

    Although I’ve only played tennis for four years, I believe in tennis. Tennis is not really a popular sport in most high schools. When I started playing tennis I was obviously not good because I’ve never played before. Once I started learning, I started to understand the fundamentals of tennis and I started to become better and better. Once I was good enough, i got the chance to play against other schools and needlessly to say, I got beat mostly every time. I then realized that the people I lost to were more “privileged” which meant that they had the funds to take lessons. Tennis is a sport in where someone cannot just learn by themselves and the person would need a teacher to teach them in order to get better. Other sports such as basketball or track, the person would not necessarily need a instructor to get better but they can just learn by themselves.Tennis has taught me that I should never be afraid to rely on other people and it may seem like I do not need someones help but in turn I could actually use their help. For tennis I always tried to learn on my own and I found it nearly impossible to get better just from trying to teach myself so I got a instructor and i got better. From this experience I learned that I should always allow people to help me and I should help other people.

    Like

  5. Matthew St. John

    At three years old, my uncle taught me how to skate and shoot a goal. From that day on, I spent most of my time trying to become the best hockey player I can be. It’s more than just a sport, it’s a lifestyle. When you grow up playing hockey, and you love the sport as much as myself and others who play it, it begins to shape you as a person. You spend countless hours with groups of great men and women, who otherwise, you never would’ve met. Some of these people have grown to be some of my best friends. It’s a great thing because it not only makes your time on the ice a lot more fun, but you also meet people who have similar interests as you. Friends are a great thing to have not only because they make life more enjoyable, but hockey as well. Hockey also teach you the value of sportsmanship and holding yourself together, despite whatever happens on the ice. Skating around the rink produces adrenaline that can lead to both negative and positive outcomes. The negative adrenaline could lead to some players getting unneeded penalties such as destroying someone with a big unnecessary check. When used correctly it helps you to play faster and harder than you ever could’ve before, often resulting in a goal and better teamwork. This is the same in everyday situations, the way you channel your anger and frustration effects the outcome of everything you do. One of the best parts of hockey for me was getting to travel to rinks in places you’ve never even heard of, from local towns, to out of state rinks, to going to Canada for a tournament. Throughout my years of hockey I’ve learned many things besides just slapping a puck.

    Like

  6. Dominic Glennon

    What I believe in is volleyball. Ever since I started when I was twelve years old I never looked back on this sport because it truly brings me happiness whenever I play. This sport means a lot to me and I never let another person get in my way when it comes to volleyball because for men who play volleyball a lot of people view volleyball as being a feminine sport, so men volleyball players get a lot of negative comments towards them. Even I have experienced those comments before, but I never let it get to me because volleyball is a way of life for me. If I was to let the hater get to me I would just being giving up a part of me that means the most to me and I would just be letting the hater win. I want to prove people wrong and show them that volleyball is a sport for both genders and I did by showing people my hard work and talents on the court. I played for my high school team did not really have any successful seasons during my high school career. But that never stopped me from playing and as I got to my senior year I was the only senior that was chosen as captain for my high school team and I was really excited about that. Now I just wait to see where volleyball will take me for my future and I know it will be great because volleyball will always be by my side.

    Like

  7. John Bean

    I believe that sports are more than just a game. They build a community that everyone can rally around. It can bring happiness or sadness. But at the end of the days it’s just plain fun.I have been playing sports my entire life; baseball, soccer, hockey, basketball and lacrosse. I have won many games and championships. But also have lost games and championships. You learn what the feelings of winning and defeat feels like. And the more you win the more hungry you get to want more. I have put my heart into sports. It is a brotherhood that cannot be broken.
    Sports have taught me some of the most important messages I have ever received. That even with hard work you may fail to achieve what you sought after. But that only makes you want it more the next time. So train harder and get better to win. I have also learned to push myself to my limits both physical and mental. By pushing my body I have learned that even when you think you can’t push it any further, you can. I have learned so much from sports but a single player can not do everything on his own.
    Sports is nothing without teamwork. I have learned to work well with others and know if i’m not doing my part, then I am not helping my team.Players become more than just a few guys playing. They build a bond stronger than any other friendship. You rely on them and they rely and you. A sports team is more like a family than just a team.

    Like

  8. Nikolas George

    I have been playing sports and being an athlete as long as I can remember more importantly team sports and I believe in the camaraderie and values they help instill in children and young adults and those values can be carried with them throughout their life. Team sports help kids learn how to work together as a team which I believe is very important in the real word and for when they get older and get a job. Team sports help kids in the social aspect of life too. When you are going to a new school, town or etcetera joining a team is the best way to make friends and get involved. Team sports teach respect and sportsmanship I believe respect is extremely relevant in the world today. You have to respect the coaches, teammates, opponents and referees when playing sports and if you don’t there are consequences just like in the grown up world. Playing sports in high school helped me with time management which I believe is highly valuable to everyone. You have to show up to games and practices on time and still get your school work done on time too. If these values are instilled early on in life then it will help them throughout their life when getting a job, meeting new people and just interacting with new people they see on the street in general and that is what I believe is important. At Umass Dartmouth I hope to join an intramural sports team and continue making friends and life learning experiences along the way.

    Like

  9. Mike Prescott

    Growing up everyone has their core beliefs and they vary from person to person. Though they are different for different people they all serve the same purpose which is to make everyone the best person they can be. For me growing up the thing that taught me most of my values was athletics because of what they taught me about sportsmanship, competition and respect. The biggest sport to teach me these things was golf which I believe is the best sport to teach people the best values when you’re young. Golf is a game of honor and integrity which is why it is so perfect, it is all about you keeping and your own score and being truthful about it when you share it with others. You learn so many life skills while playing like being respectful because of how you have to be quite when others are playing. This is not something that is demanded of you when you play but as you learn the game you learn that is respectful to do this for others so that they will do the same for you so that you can do your best when playing. You have to learn to be respectful of others skill level as well because not everyone plays as well as you might so you need to learn the fact you are not as good as some people and some people are not as good as you are. Everything about golf is not only good habits for sports but for life as well such as when you take a chunk out of the ground with a bad swing you replace the hole with some new grass seed just as in life you should always replace the things you break. However, on that same note it shows that just like an accidental bad swing that chunks up the ground you make accidents in life but its not what they look like when they happen but what will grow out of them when you refill them with something better.

    Like

  10. Dalton Andujar

    One of my favorite hobbies to do during my childhood years was playing sports, and when I was home I would be watching different sport games being played on television. I wasn’t really the average kid that always liked to watch cartoons. I would always want to watch Espn instead of watching Disney Channel, Nickelodeon, or Cartoon Network. When I wasn’t outside or at the gym involved in different sport activities I would be home watching sports. Growing up as a kid I played Baseball, Football, and Basketball. Getting involved in different sport activities helped me get out and be more active. As a kid growing up in my generation it can become very hard for a kid to get out the house and be active because of technology growing everyday. Many young kids today rather be on social media, watch t.v, or play video games rather than going out and being active and playing a sport. Getting involved in different sport activities helped me get out and be more active. Growing up playing sports has had a great impact on me because it has helped me stay out of trouble and keep me on the right path to being a very successful man in life, especially being from a city where it is very easy to get influenced with negativity. Sports has helped me encounter and better personal skills that I use in life today. I believe in sports because sports is an activity in which can help better you as a person, because it can help develop skills like teamwork, strategy, and leadership that can be used throughout different situations a person can come across in life. Sports is more of an opportunity and a way out from negative influences, and can bring positivity in a person’s life.

    Like

  11. Brittany Polk

    I believe nothing is handed to you. Sophomore year I made my varsity softball team. Although it was a big accomplishment, it wasn’t the experience I imagined. I made the team as an outfielder, but that wasn’t my primary position. Still, I practiced every day to learn the basics of the position. It seemed like all my hard work paid off when I made the team, but it didn’t. I sat the bench most of my sophomore and junior years. When senior year came around, I nearly quit but didn’t. I realized this was my last chance and I wouldn’t have to work hard to play. However, it seems nothing is ever handed to you. In February, a month before tryouts, I broke my hand. The doctor said the chances of me playing my senior year were slim to none. I would’ve finally been a starter but, instead, I would be sitting the bench for a third year in a row. I was prepared to give up softball entirely when I realized that wasn’t who I am. If there was even the slightest chance my hand would be healed in time, I would do everything I could to make that happen. I worked hard at strengthening it every day. By the time our first game came around, I was out on the diamond. Even the doctor was amazed when he signed off on my clearance. It goes to show that hard work really does pay off.

    Like

    1. Nicole Vachon

      I love your sense of determination! I have also been in similar situations where an obstacle such as a broken bone has placed a barrier between me and the field. But all that determination and hard work absolutely pays off. You get out what you put in.

      Like

  12. Danny Coughlin

    Passion, commitment, and perseverance are the three words that come to mind when i envision a true athlete. Sports were always around me growing up and as soon as high school hit, i realized football was the only sport that i truly enjoyed. So instead of wasting time on other sports, i mainly focused on the sport that i love. Waking up each morning in 95 degree summer days, having to drag my battered body back to the same field where i left my blood sweat and tears the day before. Working and giving 100% effort day in and day out and always finishing strong was what our coaches taught us. When senior year came along, it felt surreal. It was one of the most bittersweet moments of my entire life solely on the fact that it would be the last year i’d be stepping on that field for friday night lights. “Play each play like it’s your last” is what our coaches would always say to us, and truthfully i never even thought twice about it. That was until i tore my ACL on one of my lasts games in my senior season. I was devastated and honestly i was in shock when i found out for sure but the only thing i could really do was wait and work it out. No matter the injury, athletes for the love of the game will use their drive and determination in order to get back to doing what they love.

    Like

  13. Pat Gorman

    Growing up sports was apart of my life and helped me become who I am today. When I was a kid i was always jumping from practice to practice whether it was soccer,baseball,hockey, or basketball. On every team I was on there were always kids who were better than me and always kids that were worse than me. Playing on teams like this has helped me in the real world. For example growing up there were plenty of kids I didn’t like playing on teams with me, but I would always have to put that aside if i wanted to see my team win. Which is just like working in an environment with people you dislike, you realize that you’re going to just have to put your differences apart and just do the work. One other example of sports teaching me lessons is when i was younger playing baseball. I was placed on one of the better teams during the summer and throughout the year i was unable to get a hit, becoming very frustrated with myself knowing I was letting the team down. So every night me and my father would go down to the local field and he’d pitch to me. After countless hours of practice I finally started hitting the ball. This story is always what I’ve thought about when I come across a tour subject in school, that if i just grind harder I will receive the grade i strive to achieve. To conclude with out athletics in my life I would’ve missed out on so many life lessons that shape my core beliefs today.

    Like

  14. Michael Rizzo

    There are many things I could have chosen on what I believe in when is come to sports, however, the one thing that stuck out to me was the simplest, the idea of joining a sports team. Expanding player’s horizons by introducing them to another world of competition, new teammates and the pride of being on a team allows the individual to grow as an athlete. Trust is a key component when it comes to being on a sports team. If there is no trust between the players or between a player and their coach greatness cannot be achieved.
    One main reason to join a sports team is the friendships that are created. Playing soccer, lacrosse, and basketball with the same kids every season as I grew up built friendships that will last a life time. It creates fantastic chemistry while playing with the same kids since you were young. With the great chemistry you have with your team you know what there next cut is going to be, or when your forward it going to make his next run. It’s a bond that’s unbreakable.
    Secondly, playing a sport in high school in itself helps you grow as a person. Making sure you are on time to ever practice and game is crucial. Not getting in trouble in or out of school is also very important so nothing can jeopardize you season. The most important thing in high school and college is being able to balance your school work and athletics. You have to stay discipline and keep your grades up while showing up to practice to compete, work hard, and get better.
    Being part of a sports team has made me realize what being an athlete, teammate and overall person is all about.

    Like

  15. Riley Larsson

    I believe that exercise can result in a happier, better life. Throughout my entire life I have always been quite active whether it was because of basketball, football, lifting, etc. When I was younger my family would tell me that after I had done some sort of physical activity, I would be in a great mood as if nothing could upset me. For the most part I just ignored what they said and agreed without thinking about it. Part of me understood what my family said but it wasn’t until I graduated high school that I fully understood what they had been saying. It was after my last basketball games that I realized how much the sport did for me and how much I will miss it. When school ended and I had no sports to look forward to or train for I found myself depressed and very angry. One day the anger had really been hitting me and I had to go sit down and try to figure out what had happened to me. I failed to recognize the solution was my lack in exercise at the time.
    One thing I have always wanted was to be extremely fit. I had been lifting off and on for years now and finally decided to start a serious program. It was the best decision of my life! The first week was tough, forcing myself to go to the gym after a tiring day at work but I did it. I was hooked after the second week and on days where I was not at the gym I found myself sitting around thinking about being at the gym. Working out was and still is the best part of my day. When I am at the gym I loose focus of the outside world and all the problems. I am there for one reason and that is to better myself physically and by doing so it mentally strengthens me. I found myself being a better person, son, brother, friend, etc. because I was finally happy with who I am and what I was doing. At this point I finally realized how exercise does affect me and I wanted to share it with everyone I knew. I started asking my friends if they wanted to come with me and some did end up joining me. It was great, I got to share what I love with people I care about and make them feel better too. One friend even told me how much better physically and mentally he felt, which was the best feeling in the world.
    Now I think about when I was playing basketball or something active, I would not have a single worry, as if nothing in the world mattered, but the activity. I could forget about everything and have a great time, which is exactly how I feel about lifting. Because of exercise I have become a better person, I have met numerous amounts of life long friends, and I have learned very valuable life lessons. This is why I believe that exercise can truly change the course of someone’s life and make them have a happier and better life.

    Like

  16. Kyle Owen

    What is something I believe in and value? Since I was young, the biggest part of my life was sports. Whether I was out on the field playing, or watching a game,my life revolved around athletic events. I believe that sports can make a big impact on someone’s life. You meet many people with some similar hobbies and passions who become some great friends. It isn’t just a way to go get exercise. It’s a get away from everyday life. It is something that you can do to push yourself. Along with that sports have made me who I am today. I have learned so much through sports. Sports teach you how to drive to complete personal goals. They make you realize what it means to be part of a team and how to work together with others. I also believe sports made me who I am because it gave me a sense of comradery. Sports are a way to make success from failure and how to fix mistakes. You may make a mistake but sports have taught me to learn from them. Sports help define you and push you to perform at your best physical limits.I also believe sports are another reason that athletes learn, other than school. I feel like it is a reason stay and participate in classes at school. Normal classes would teach you how to do Math or English. Outside of classes you will learn things that all other schools and classes can not even begin to replicate. In sports, a team can only win if they work together to reach the same common goal.

    Like

  17. William Michaud

    I honestly cannot think of a year in my life where I have not been involved in some form of athletics. I’ve made so many memories that I won’t soon forget. From winning tiny tournaments with my old rec soccer team, to setting school records on my high school swim team, sports have given me so much in life. Not only have I gained memories but also skills. Not just skills to be good at the sport you are competing in, but also social skills. Sports teach you teamwork, perseverance, and many other great characteristics.
    Yes you learn many things in all forms of athletics, but I feel that I’ve grown the most from being on a swim team. The people I have met on this team have left a huge impact on my life. They taught me how to truly work hard at reaching a goal, but they have also made me who I am now. They showed me that its fine to be yourself and that people will like you for who you are and not who others make you out to be.
    Overall I believe in athletics. I believe that everyone should have it be apart of their life. Athletics teaches you many valuable life lessons that can only be learned from being on a team. You will also learn more about yourself, and you will make memories that can last a lifetime.

    Like

  18. Taylor Mazurek

    I believe that athletics helps shape a person all around. Being a part of a sports team teaches an individual self-discipline, leadership social skills. Through my own life experiences, I have watched myself and my teammates develop into strong minded, independent women. Having been a part of AAU basketball, school basketball and softball teams as well as six years of soccer, sports has greatly impacted my life for the better. The people I have met over the years, players and families, just from basketball alone amazes me.
    Most people tend to pre-judge me. My entire life I have always been overweight. At 8 years old I tried out for the MetroWest basketball team. I made the team and especially after a few practices, I really felt like I belonged. I made friends with people whom I am still close with to this day. I learned to value myself and discovered my talent and love for sports, especially basketball. In basketball I was always told I was too short for my position. Great, I’m fat and short. Well I became captain of my AAU basketball team due to my success on the court. My team mates knew they could rely on me for guidance and leadership on and off the court. Through sports I became confident and believed in myself unlike the shy, unconfident person I was before. I started setting goals for myself and worked to achieve those goals. I began to believe in myself. I made all stars in 2 different sports and many college opportunities for basketball. The feeling you get when you achieve your goals words cannot describe.
    Being part of a team also teaches you to work together. You have to trust and rely on each other. As a team you are together so much that you form many long lasting bonds. When we won, we celebrated together. When we lost we hurt together. I have developed into a completely different, more confident person and made lasting friendships. Aside from myself I have observed firsthand how athletics and sporting events builds a persons’ self- esteem and brings people and communities together.

    Like

  19. Matt Higgins

    I believe sports are one of the greatest opportunities any child can experience as it opens them to a whole new world of interaction with others as well as allows them to learn life skills. Being a part of a team, whether it’s for a class project or for a sports event, brings individuals who might be strangers together to complete a task at hand. As for me I started soccer when I was six, and it quickly became my passion as I really enjoyed it. Surely I wasn’t the most talented kid or the best player, but being on a team really made it worthwhile to me as I wasn’t alone and actually felt apart of something I could be proud of. As time went on and I entered high school, sports became my life and for four years, everything evolved around sports. I participated in soccer, cross country as well as winter and spring track, and I did those sports for three seasons a year for four years. During my senior year I was nominated to be one of the 4 track and field captains and I was chosen. teaching new freshman and all other underclassmen the idea behind good sportsmanship as well as devotion and hard work will really shape an individual to be the greatest they can possibly be. To me that’s why sports are the essential to any person as they can teach life lessons and can influence people in different ways that schools can’t.

    Like

  20. Wilson Veras

    I believe in athletics, I believe that sports can impact the lives of certain people. For example, sports have impacted my life in very positive ways. It has helped me socialize with other people with very different backgrounds, it has also helped me understand that I am not the only one that has problems in life and that some people have bigger problems than me. People unite to play a sport, they forget about their problems for a little while. Sports can also be a way of expressing yourself and showing what you can do for a team. I think that one of the most important things about sports is that people of different backgrounds, races and beliefs unite to play a sport and it does not matter where you come from or what you believe in, you play the sport because you love it and you want to be good at it and enjoy yourself while your doing it. Some parents force their kid to play a certain sport. It can be because of different reasons, but almost always is because they want their kid to achieve something that they could not do while they were young. A lot of kids end up doing something they do not want to do just to make their parents happy and end up hating the sport because of it. It does not what sport you practice you need to have fun while doing it, if not it is just not worth it.

    Like

  21. Cierra Sheerin

    Softball, a game I find way too familiar to me. Growing up, my world has always revolved around sports. I was fortunate enough to get to have a taste of every sport from dance and gymnastics to swimming and soccer. After many years of so many different sports and teams, softball became my focus. I fell in love it and began to like it even more because I became good at the sport. The more I played, the better I got. Softball soon became a second nature, but also a job. It was six times a week, nonstop and also year around. In the end the dedication, determination, and focus put into softball payed off.
    I believe in softball. I believe in the year-around dedication. I believe in the fight to get back on the field after an injury. I believe in working ten times harder to outplay the competition. I believe in the grind to push yourself harder than the day before. I believe in the waking up before the sun even comes up for practice in the winter and game on the weekends in the summer. I believe in pushing yourself in ninety-degree heat during a hot summer tournament. I believe in the twenty minute squads to work on glove work. I believe in the three hour hitting practice to perfect the perfect swing each week. I believe that nothing will be given to anyone. I believe that hard work will outwit all others. I believe in softball.

    Like

    1. Nicole Vachon

      I can relate to many of the items you listed, and completely agree! It takes a lot to completely dedicate yourself to a single sport, but the countless reps and constant push to do just a little better shows tremendous results. And now all that determination that we have learned can be applied to further experiences in our lives, like in the work field.

      Like

  22. Nicole Vachon

    When I was only five years old, I signed up to play softball. Little did I know just how big of an impact it would have on my life. It seems like in the past six years or so that I have spent more time on the field and in the cages than I spend in my own home. Rain or shine, the field is where you can find me, probably covered in dirt from head to toe. Being so involved in a sport has really taught me valuable time management skills, along with many other attributes that I hope to carry for the rest of my life. Some of my strongest relationships have been with my teammates. My high school team was, and still is like family to me. Some people believe sports are just an activity that keeps children busy or active, but participating in athletics can easily become a lifestyle filled with many opportunities and valuable lessons.

    Trying to juggle sports and school is always difficult. Athletics has taught me amazing time management skills. The term “student athlete” puts books before cleats. Participating in athletics provides even more drive to do the best possible in school and to keep that GPA up. I grew up being told that if my grades dropped at all, I wouldn’t be able to play anymore. That was motivation enough to hit the books and study hard. Yet another way athletics has positively affected my life.

    Like

  23. Aaron Chase

    I will believe that with hard work and dedication that success will follow. Both of these essential characteristics can be found within sports. They play a huge role in building character, dedicating and managing time, commitment, focus and many more skills that everyone must know in the world we live in today. Sports isn’t just about winning or losing, they are much more than that. I believe sports create great habits both inside the classroom and hopefully for many years after. Picking up those habits and getting into a routine that helps achieve your goals are assisted by sports. It’s not what you do on the field that makes you a better person, it’s what you can take from it. I believe that you learn most of your life lessons within sports. You can learn what it really takes to be a leader. You will learn that it’s okay to make mistakes and that you can always learn from them. Student athletes learn how to manage and budget that time between school, sports, friends, family, and sometimes even sleep. Watching the games in sharing is fun and all, but actually being a part of the team and playing as well as practicing is a whole other story. You will learn that perfect does not exist, it’s simply a myth. In life you will make mistakes and you’ll fail. All that matters is what you do after, whether you get back up or not, try to fix your mistakes and try not to make them again. I believe sports give people this edge in life.

    Like

  24. Kadin Bruhl

    Ever since I was a young kid my parents have constantly reminded me that if I want to achieve goals, I must take it upon myself to put in the work necessary to do so. Thanks to my parents I still believe that you get whatever it is you give, and athletics is an excellent example of this. One particular sport that stands out to me is Basketball. I love basketball because although it’s heavily dependant on teamwork, it’s also a sport where individual talent is just as important, and can have a drastic impact on the game. A few aspects of basketball relative to teamwork are calling plays, set defenses/offenses, and communication. These are all really important aspects to forming a dominant basketball team, but they aren’t skills you can effectively practice by yourself. Instead during my free time I found myself working on my individual skills, such as shooting, dribbling, and running. In basketball it’s true that a majority of the points are generated from good teamwork, but a lot of points often come from dominant players outplaying their defenders. An excellent example of this is LeBron James, who is hands down the most impressive individual basketball player in the world right now. If his team is having a bad game, and they aren’t in sync, his strength and talent in general allows him to take the game over and start driving through defenders. This can produce hype for his teammates which makes it easier for them to get their heads back in the game and start performing well. Due to Lebron’s leadership the Cavs often fight their way back into games they’re losing, which makes them a team you can never count out until the final buzzer. This shows how important it can be to have a player with superb individual talent, who can take the game over if the team needs them to. Growing up I had always played and been a fan of basketball, but I never took it seriously until I was in 5th grade. All I wanted at the time was to be one of the greats with the ability to carry their team to the championship, so I started running from my house to the courts everyday and practiced for hours. I was always a solid player before the training started, but it didn’t take long for me to notice the mass improvement i’d made in just one month of training. Everything I did during training was at game speed, I tried replicating real game experiences as best I could. It got to the point where certain dribble moves and certain spots I shot from on the court became muscle memory. I quickly went from being an average ball player in 5th grade, to one of the strongest players on my division one AAU and Metrowest teams until 9th grade. Once high school hit I found myself less and less motivated to practice, as I became interested in other things. I still played basketball for the team, but it wasn’t the same. I wasn’t getting nearly as much playing time, and I noticed teammates who I once outmatched were playing better than me.This is why I believe that you get what you give.

    Like

  25. Giovanni Jean Francois

    There is more to athletics or being an athlete than just playing the sport. When one is an athlete you learn how to be dedicated, you learn how to be consistent, you learn how to build character. Growing up all I had was athletics. When I was little, I wouldn’t call playing in the park all day as being athletic but at that young age all I would do is go out and play. Growing up when I had more chances of becoming an athlete with many different types of sports. Many different types of sports such as soccer.I started when I was just five years old, I would practice with my father’s soccer team and overtime growing up sports had taught me discipline, consistency, grit and drive. All are very important lessons to a child while they are growing up. I had done this in the country I was born in. That was just soccer, when I had migrated here to the United States of America, I had many more chances to take part in many different athletics such as basketball, track, and baseball. With the characteristics that I had learned playing soccer I was able to become a better athlete and person. I became a responsible person, a strong leader, and gained the responsibility to take care of people and myself. While growing up and taking part of several different types of sports it had molded me into a better person on and off of the court.

    Like

  26. I have always believed that athletics and sports in particular help people overcome obstacles and helps build character in not only sports, but in your life outside of athletics, whether that be school, jobs, family, etc. This is something that I believed in high school because I played football and basketball in high school and my coaches in both sports always told me that you do not just play sports to win and have fun, but you play because sports teaches you how to be a better person and be successful in life as well. This always stuck with me and it is something that I do truly believe in and it helped propel in high school sports and schoolwork. The time and effort that is required in athletics is tough, and that toughness and determination that athletes have from playing sports, helps translate over to other aspects of life. I believe that athletics teaches you life lessons that are unique and you might not learn these lessons somewhere else. I value the mental strength and courage that sports can teach and I have never taken those values for granted, and I know that those values can help people achieve what they want out of life, and work hard to achieve those goals. Athletics are great to have in your life and I believe that from sports the main qualities you can obtain from them are humbleness, courage, toughness, professionalism, and many more qualities could be named as well. I truly believe that athletics helps people succeed in life through hard work that is unique to athletics.

    Like

  27. Joel Nunez

    I believe that sports/athletics has helped me develop into the friendly and outgoing person i am today. Ever since i was able to do organized sports, I haven’t stopped doing the sports i did then and i hope to do it for a long time, even just for fun. I first started by playing basketball. I was in the cartoon league. I still remember how nervous and shy i was. I mean meeting new kids is always scary. I was lucky because i had one friend that i knew also doing cartoon league, and as any other kid would do, i ran up to him and tried staying next to him the whole time. Once we introduced ourselves to the team we had our first practice. Since i didn’t know anyone i tried to show off what i could not do and made myself look silly. I made mistakes after mistakes after mistakes, but after every mistake i would always get a pat on the back and not just from my friend but everyone on my team. I started to get comfortable with my teammates and by the time i realized i had more friends than ever and my self-esteem kept getting better and better. After 13 years of playing the game I’ve learned a few things. Basketball for me has influenced me to get out of my comfort zone and allow myself to create friendships. Now i don’t only have long lasting friendships but brothers for life.

    Like

Comments are closed.