42 thoughts on “Faith

  1. Margaret Ferreira

    I Believe In God

    The fact that I went to a Catholic elementary and middle school and attended church did not mean I “automatically” believed in God. Atheists went to my school, even though nobody would have guessed it. Religion class to me was just another class. No major impact. Even though I attended Catholic school, my faith in God was minimal.
    A defining moment for me in my faith was freshmen year of high school when my boyfriend at the time introduced me to his church. It was not Catholic, but another denomination of Christianity which the sabbath day was Saturday and focused on the bible. My interest grew and I began attending regularly and even took up bible studies. After a year, I was baptized. This showed my church community and most importantly God that I was serious in my faith and my relationship with God.
    Being a christian is not easy. Ever since I have been vocal about my faith and religion, I have had to deal with ridicule from family and friends. Many arguments and disagreements. However, this did not change my belief in God. God is never failing.
    I believe in God, not just during the good times but during the bad times. I may not be perfect, but in his eyes I am. My belief in God has changed my life, for the better. “For with God nothing shall be impossible.” Luke 1:37

    Like

    1. Bhumi Patel

      I completely agree with you! I am pretty religious too, and I think that it is really important to believe in something, even if not a religion, both in good and bad times; being positive is really important, and religion can really help that as well!

      Like

    2. Thalia Nogueira

      Ever since I was able to breathe I was introduced to God. I remember waking up early on Saturday mornings putting on a flower dress carrying my illustrated children’s Bible in my little purse. Growing up in a Seventh Day Adventist home wasn’t always so easy. There were times in which I simply didn’t feel the desire to go to church. My parents always took my brother and I to church, being so young we didn’t have a choice. As I grew up I was able to voice my decision and to this day I still choose to attend church weekly. Many people have made fun of my faith while constantly questioning me if I’m not sick of the strict routines. Sick of what really? Setting aside a day to spiritually connect with God and thank him for all the wonders and blessings in my life is not sickening to me. I have learned so much about the wonderful things God has done and still is doing for his people that the thought of just giving up on everything really just isn’t a thought at all. Believing in a higher being where I find peace and happiness to me goes beyond all the “fun” I’m missing out on. God is so kind and forgiving that I will be eternally grateful to my family for always pushing me to go to church to become closer to God. My relationship with Him allows me to make wise choices as a young woman in this cruel and lonely world. The moments of pleasure that the world offers is temporary but next to God I know I will forever be happy. Religion is a beautiful thing.

      Like

  2. Ross Jacques

    I believe in the One
    Life is a constant struggle. With the modern society in so much turmoil, we hardly give a second thought to the peace and serenity that comes about when we let go and let God. My high school career left me with many questions regarding where I am going to go in my future and how I am going to get there. It took me until the summer before college to realize that nothing is possible without faith in the Almighty One and to treat others like I would treat myself.
    Steubenville East, otherwise known to many as “Stupidville East”, is a Catholic Youth Conference held every year. Consisting of over 3,000 young people, this conference brings out the true faith in people, even if they didn’t know they had it. Saturday night, the night people hear so many stories about, really opens up the eyes to people who are forcing them shut. In something called Eucharistic Adoration, the Holy body of Christ is exposed. What really gets spooky is when people begin convulsing on the ground. Some cry, some laugh, some even have no feelings what so ever. The Holy Spirit descends upon the entire conference in an entirely new way. What really made me give the faith a second thought is listening to the man next to me, who wasn’t even Catholic. During the procession he shouted out, “Do you feel it! It’s radiating brighter than the sun!” Unbeknownst to me, the experience converted him to Catholicism. Also, following the night, a young man asked the group of 125 young people what happened to him. He stated that his friend told him he was saying something, but they had no idea what he was saying. This young man, only knowing English, was speaking a dead language given to him by the Holy Spirit in the gift of tongues.
    Whatever happened that night will stick with me forever. The power radiating from the conference puts all things into perspective. Faith is a necessity, whether someone is Muslim, Protestant, Buddhist, or like me, Catholic. We each have our own beliefs. Peace is maintained when people are allowed to believe in what they think is right. It is different for all of us. My belief in the One is my belief. It will differ from someone else’s. Life is too short to be upset at people of other faiths. If the conference taught me one thing, it is to be aware of other people and to communicate to them as a person, not an opinion. The greatest commandment given by God is “Love your neighbor as yourself” (MT 22:39). This I believe in to the utmost degree. Love everyone no matter who they are. By doing this, I can believe in the One with all my heart, mind, and soul.

    Like

    1. Jessica O'Reilly

      I really appreciate your thoughts about communicating with others like they are people, rather than opinions. I have often found that in sharing my opinions, people think differently of me so for that reason I, like you, try to separate the two things! Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  3. I used to be a Christian. I would go to church every week, though I often fell asleep during the sermon. I had perfect attendance in Sunday school, though I was forced to go every week, and there were munchkins. I believed I was christian, but I didn’t know I could be anything else. Then one day in fourth grade a word was spoken to me that changed everything. Atheist. I had never heard the word before. I had no idea what it was. But as the person explained, my mind lit up with realization. I was an atheist. I wondered why I’d never been introduced to the word until now, and realized it was because I never sought it out. I had always assumed you had to be religious, because I’d never heard of someone being anything else. What else didn’t I know? What other false assumptions did I have? What was true? Quietly I began to question. I began to look at the world around me with fresh eyes. I started picking apart everything I thought I knew to determine what was real. I spent hours watching videos, and T.V. programs about science, and psychology. Slowly, over the course of years, I formed the habit of skepticism. I no longer blindly believed anything I was told, every scrap of information I absorbed was thoroughly questioned. I used to be Christian, now I’m skeptical.

    Like

  4. Keaslee Sermeil

    A question I am repeatedly ask is “how do you believe in God?” It is said to me time and time again that it is impossible for all to exist because of some “mystical being”, but then I think how is that not possible. People who truly aren’t raised to believe in such a higher power and are too blinded by the blessings they interpret as luck to see what God has presented before them. A job interview, an extra dollar in your pocket, a simple ride to a destination that you were longing to be present at. People mistake these for luck, when I believe that God not only heard our words of frustration and aggravation, but also our cries of pain and struggle. I believe that I’ve felt pain and struggled hard enough to realize a blessing that may be “disguised”; but what I don’t understand is how people don’t see that. How is believing in science enough for people. How is wishing someone luck doing them any better than praying for them. I see prayer as a way of asking my protector for forgiveness of all my sins, to continue to watch over me and my loved ones, help me achieve answers when I’m perplexed, and give me strength when I’m weakened. And this is not something I only choose to believe but have to for others that aren’t quite there yet. Ones that are lead astray to a life only doomed to a horrible misfortune, or the ones that are in constant need of security and definition. Not only do I find comfort in believing in such an incredible higher power, but also a sense of worth and purpose. And I continue to believe that not only will it strengthen me as a young women living in today’s society, but encourage others to find fulfillment.

    Like

    1. Jadelynn Grimshaw

      I feel the same way; to me it seems the only thing possible is that all my accomplishment is thanks to God.

      Like

  5. Nicholas Koneski

    I believe in faith.
    Ever since I was a mere child my parents have instilled in me the value of faith in God. At my young age I absorbed everything that was taught to me without question. Although I was more concerned with what toy I would play with next rather than the essential questions in life, I generally understood the concept of God and his power. However everyone must face hardships in life, some much greater than others. Just days before spring track season began my sophomore year of highschool, I walked home to my brothers sitting in the living room waiting for me with a look of uneasiness in their eyes. My father had been rushed to the emergency room.
    Staring at my once joyous and active father lying unconscious with tubes left and right truly tested my faith. I wondered what life may be like in the future, doubting he would ever be the same again. It was not until six days later that he finally regained consciousness, but his fate was still uncertain.
    Today it is difficult to believe the terrific fight his body endured two years ago. He moves around and travels hours to support our athletics as though nothing ever happened. God has truly blessed my family with the miracle of my father’s life. I now see my father’s health as the prime example to me where even in the darkest of days, our faith in God is still returned by His love for us all.

    Like

    1. Kevin Torres

      I believe in the belief of believing. The power of being able to believe is an empowering and immersing idea. Simply believing in anything can help so much through situations in which you may find it hard to go through. If you recognize that you believe, then you can achieve. To believe can be defined as accepting a statement (of someone) as true. The action of believing is one step closer for one to achieve his/her goal. Everyone has a goal or goals that they strive for. Believing can help us reach our goals. Believing in one’s dream is the first step into making that dream a reality. This mere action has gotten me to where I am right now, writing this wonderful essay.
      Dreams are not just dreams. We all love to dream. If you believe in your dreams, then they can come true over time. No dream is ever too big or too small. One of my favorite quotes goes, “If people aren’t laughing at your dreams, your dreams aren’t big enough” meaning that your dreams could be endless. If there is anyone stopping us from our dreams, then it’s ourselves because we hold our dreams in our hands. If you believe that you will succeed, then you will, facts. For example, one of my favorite athletes is Michael Phelps. He had a goal when he was 12 years old, that he wanted to swim in the Olympics and win a gold medal. At first, he thought that this dream was unrealistic, but now he holds 18 Olympic gold medals! This shows that the belief in believing helps you achieve your goals. Never stop dreaming. Believe me.

      Like

  6. Jessica O'Reilly

    There are many things that my parents have done for me, but possibly the greatest was showing me just how sweet the love of Christ really is, even if it took the good part of my nearly nineteen years to truly appreciate it. I have finally reached a place in my life that I am happy with who I am, and more particularly where you can find me on Sunday mornings. The hardest question I’ve asked myself repetitively is why do I go to church every week? I can assure you that I have given this testing topic more thought than I’d care to admit because it took many years for me to figure out my own beliefs. Just because I grew up in a Catholic family and was taught the faith, didn’t mean I had to take it as my own. For many weeks, the reason I was attending mass was not by choice, rather by obligation. I have had my own set of struggles and for that reason I have turned to God. Attending mass every week makes me feel better about myself and stronger in my own abilities.
    After nearly nineteen years of being nowhere else on Sunday mornings, I can attest that imagining myself anywhere else is hard and I have concluded that I don’t want to find myself elsewhere. Why do I go to church? The answer is quite simple. Because I want to. Because it makes me feel good, to do the right thing, to follow God, and to be his. Because it is a place I can be nobody else, but me. And most importantly because I believe in the father, the son, and the holy spirit and that without the love of Jesus Christ I would be nothing.

    Like

  7. saurav kandel

    I believe in God. I believe he is out there, somewhere in peace looking out for us. I believe that God is good and helps us through the hard times ¬¬that we have throughout your life. God is the creator of heaven and earth. God knows when you have been through hard times, he knows when you pray to him in those hard times, he listens to you and gives you hints to follow the right path. When I was young, I did not know much about God, who he is, why people love him and pray to him. My grandfather used to tell me whenever you feel like you’re in danger or feel like you’re in bad situation just think about God and he will take care of everything, my family is very religious, we come from a place where there is more than one God, and there are millions of Gods. We pray to God every morning. God has brought so much happiness and peace in my family. I believe God will always loves us no matter what, he will always be there for us no matter what condition we are in, and he will be always out there looking out for us. First thing I do when I wake up, I think about God, I pray to him, I say to him “Thank you god, you made me see another beautiful day”. I put God in first place because I know he will take care of everything.

    Like

  8. Vincent Philbrook-Towne

    I believe in God’s word
    In Sophomore year of high school I was in a really rough patch. I had recently been kicked out of my mother’s house, losing my friends, family, and practically my entire life in the process. I had no other place to turn to but God. At the time I only believed in a bigger entity, however, with nothing left I started to dig deeper. This was not easy at first. My favorite type of music is punk rock, which mostly they sing against religion if it’s even mentioned at all. My father, who I lived with at the time, not only didn’t (and still doesn’t) believe in God but gets angered at the very topic. I have one grandmother who attends church daily. She is seventy-five years old and has attended church every single waking day of her life since she was seventeen, including when she’s away on vacation. I saw how happy she always was, even through screaming matches that I saw her get into with my father over the topic. Anyways, I strived to be like that. I saw that with God, you could be much happier. I started attending church with her regularly. I got involved with a Bible study group, which was completely new to me because in the beginning of the studies I knew not a single person there. I got my own Bible and Cross necklace. I spent nights awake way later than I should have been studying and highlighting in my Bible. My Faith grew much stronger and eventually my happiness did too. I made friends, rebuilt bridges with my mother, and the rest of my family. Overall I strongly believe in God’s word and the effect that it can have on people’s lives.

    Like

  9. Vincent Philbrook-Towne

    In Sophomore year of high school I was in a rough patch. I had been kicked out of my mother’s house, losing my friends, family, and practically my entire life in the process. I had no other place to turn to but God. At the time I believed in a bigger entity, however, with nothing left I started to dig deeper. This was not easy at first. My favorite type of music is punk rock, which mostly they sing against religion if it’s even mentioned at all. My father, who I lived with at the time, doesn’t believe in God and gets angered at the very topic. I have one grandmother who attends church daily. She is seventy-five years old and has attended church every day since she was seventeen. I saw how happy she always was and I strived to be like that. I saw that with God, you could be much happier. I started attending church with her regularly. I got involved with a Bible study group, which was completely new to me because in the beginning of the studies I knew not a single person there. I spent nights awake way later than I should have been studying and highlighting in my Bible. My Faith grew much stronger and eventually my happiness did too. I made friends, rebuilt bridges with my mother, and the rest of my family. Overall I strongly believe in God’s word and the effect that it can have on people’s lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Elvis Dasilva

    I Believe In Faith
    Having faith means realizing that God is bigger, greater, and better than us. Anytime we demonstrate faith, we’re relying on something. When you first enter the classroom, you’re relying on the professor to give you an informative lecture, but ultimately you must take it upon your self to receive this information and understand its meaning. It’s easy to say you “can’t” accomplish a goal you have.This goal I had was for me to someday head off to college and make something out of myself. As a young kid I was told plenty of times that I couldn’t accomplish this goal because of where I come from. While growing up, I realized that this road wasn’t suppose to be easy. Now sometimes things are very easy, your catching every green light and it’s effortless. That’s completely fine but don’t think it’s going to stay that way. There will be moments when you have to face challenges and work your way through it. If you can acknowledge and take care of what’s given to you right now, you can’t help but go in the right direction.Trust the process and that it will lead you to where you need to be. From my own experience, where you end up is far greater that anything you could ever imagine. By myself going to college is how I plan to impact the world and my family, to allow myself to do these great things that I once thought was impossible. Until this day, I still ask myself how am I going to take it to the next level, I still feel like I’m not even half way to the greatness that I’m striving for. As I continue to walk by faith and not by sight, God continues to keep me out of the darkness and into the light.

    Like

  11. Daniel Griffith

    Walk By Faith , Not By Sight”
    Growing up in a religious home I never felt it was much of a challenge keeping a strong relationship with God. From the age of seven until eighteen , I’ve been fed scripture that ultimately holds a deeper meaning to my life than I will ever fully understand. As I grow older I realize how important it is to have a strong relationship with God considering the variety of temptations that exist. For my experiences , I’ve learned that every road you chose has both rewards and consequences that ultimately mold us into better people. These trials and tribulations often lead us on a journey to self realization. During this journey, many people begin to have there own interpretation of what faith is or what it does to alter their goals in life. Faith, according to Hebrews 11:1, is being sure of what we hope for and what we do not see. In my opinion, as generations grow less mature , faith has been weakened in meaning so that some people use it to mean self-confidence. But in the Bible, true faith is confidence in God, not in one’s self. If we put our faith in God and trust Him, He will always provide a way for us, according to His will. A person can set a goal for himself, but only if he has faith that ultimately he will achieve the goal he shall be victorious. Thus, faith forms the foundation of every new achievement, and victory. Faith plays a huge role in my life, it is the belief in which I stand on. I believe that being grounded in faith gives hope in all life’s challenges. There will always be obstacles one must stumble across in order to achieve greatness. The road ahead will not always be easy which is what builds character and self-confidence. I plan to continue on the path to success and strive for greatness with every new opportunity i stumble across.

    Like

  12. Erika Barstad

    From the time I was old enough to say the word, I’ve called myself a Christian. But it wasn’t until I was in highschool that I truly started my walk with Christ. The moment that really made me want to know God more, was when I was watching a religious TV show that my grandmother had left on. The woman in the show was so passionate and she caught my attention. From there, I started talking to my boyfriend about God more and we began going to church every Sunday, praying together, and joined a bible study. I talked to God constantly and I was finally feeling happy in my walk with Him. However, it wasn’t always like that. There have been many ups and downs. Sometimes I’m at the top of my game, but when horrible things happen, it leaves me thinking, “Why did that have to happen? God could have stopped it.” I’ve skipped praying or didn’t talk to Him because I was mad. But at the end of the day I don’t know why horrible things happen but I know He has a reason for everything and that His plan is bigger than mine. He gives me His all and is there with me getting me through it. God doesn’t owe me anything yet He loves me unconditionally, instantly forgiving me whenever I ask. He has brought so many blessings into my life that I don’t deserve and continues to do so.

    Like

  13. Karina DeAndrade

    We grow up learning the importance of helping one another. As kids we would be eager to help our parents clean or cook or help the teacher around the classroom. We help in various forms like by sharing, donating, volunteering and so much more. It teaches us to be humble, caring, disciplined and to put something or someone above ourselves. I believe in helping others for Gods glory.
    As we grow older, we lose that eagerness to help others and become more selfish. We tend to help only when we get something in return. For example, money, hours, love, recognition, whatever it is our heart is searching for. We tend to turn our backs on services that won’t benefit us in return. Most find it easier to be selfish than to help because if we avoid helping, it will be one less problem to deal with and people won’t start relying on you.
    1 Corinthians 10:31 says “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” We don’t help others for them to notice us or to gain a reward in return for doing a good deed. We serve for Gods glory, so that his kingdom may grow. When we serve for Gods glory, the task becomes less exhausting, it becomes less dreadful and most importantly we become less selfish.
    I believe in serving others Gods glory. I’m not saying that it’s easy to go out there and serve. However, by finding that balance and by making God the center of every task you do, it makes serving others less burdensome and less exhausting. It gives us faith that what we are doing is not for granted and hope that God is shining his light through every task we are doing.

    Like

    1. Rolinda Marcelino

      God is beyond human comprehension, I feel His being is limiting by the assumption that without His aid we have the ability of finding undeniable proof. I believe, rather that each “proof” brought upon by both the philosophers of God and philosophers in general, believers or not is evidence, evidence which adds more pieces to the infinite puzzle that is the proof of God. Belief is not solely dependent on comprehension; though a degree is required to an extent as one should not follow without purpose, Belief arises other factors such as faith in which without proper context gains a bad reputation and is deemed as unreliable; belief in God has been and is a constant victim of this. This world as we perceive it is an illusion, a fact which has been proven by quantum mechanics as well as the faultility of our senses. This combined with the notion that the lives of us fallen humans is, in a sense a test requiring much trust or faith on our end; in which will be unveiled to humans when the time is right implies that currently human perception is “veiled” most likely hinting at the importance of a more faith based examples of God as to not be too reliant on visuals or senses which as we know are faulty. Unfortunately many people have become reliant on such methods of analysis much so that they apply this to God and dismiss Him due to the lack of sensory proof. Problematically attempting to define Him by their lesser logic and comprehension. Like explaining quantum mechanics to an infant. Hence, no one has to the full extent proof of God for no human has the mental capacity to comprehend His being much less define it.
      One philosophical source of evidence is Descartes, a man whom brought attention to the errors of being reliant on one’s senses. “I observed, however, that these sometimes misled us; and it is part of prudence not to place absolute confidence in that that by which we have even once been deceived.” Doubting the senses due to there imperfections as well as the constant fabrication of what they deem as reality in the form of dreams.
      “…but I cannot forget that, at other times I have been deceived in sleep by similar illusions, and attentively considering those cases. Descartes then states “I perceive so clearly that there exist no certain marks by which the state of waking can ever be distinguished from sleep that I feel greatly astonished; and In amazement I almost persuade myself that I am dreaming now.” I feel this statement relates greatly to the sense of matrix our society currently conditions our perspectives into; go to school, go to college get a well paying job then die. There is so much more to our beautiful existence than this silly cycle of oppression.
      I believe that every piece of information has brought a piece or pieces of evidence that add to the ultimate proof of the existence of God, though arriving at this conclusion itself takes a realization, which in turn requires certain connections to be made, since humans know not of what combination of words, actions etc, will trigger which realization we can only wonder and act upon our guesses.

      Like

  14. Jadelynn Grimshaw

    “Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from Him.”(Psalm 127:3) When I take a look at the beauty of the world; I can see the love that was used in making it. When you look at a painting with many intricacies and details; you can see all the time, effort, and love that the artist put into creating it. I am unable to comprehend how anyone could look at the same wondrous world that I live in and assume that all the complexity of it was made by accident. Something far more beautiful than the world is the forming of a child in the womb. Slowly coming together bit by bit; little hands that grasp and little feet that kick, an unborn baby is the most beautiful piece of art. With love God made us in his image; we are his creations. “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” (Psalm 139:13-14)
    At conception a baby girl’s genetic characteristics, even part of her personality, are decided. Even through the stages in which she can move and be comforted by her mother’s voice, she can be aborted. “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.”(Jeremiah 1:5) An unborn child is already their own person who God loves; a child still in her mother’s womb is living.

    Like

  15. Joe Marcille

    Faith is strongly believing in something you may not see (just yet). My Aunt Alicia battled breast cancer for 10 years and never complained. However, reality struck our family when the news was revealed by the doctor that my aunt had no more than six months to live. I would continue to question whether God was actually there, because how could He let someone so strong and inspiring leave her three young daughters so early after fighting for her life continuously for a decade?
    My mother accompanied her during many ongoing treatments at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston. She and her sister-in-law Alicia created a very tight bond as the years and treatment continued. According to her, my aunt believed the number 51 was personally significant to her. She was certain that it represented a spiritual sign, but for a long time, could not determine the reason. As the years went by, she theorized that she would die at the age of 51. The answer finally was revealed to our family. My aunt would lose her battle to breast cancer on May 1st, 2013 at the age of 48.
    In my kitchen, we have a plaque that reads, “Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see” (Hebrews 11:1). My aunt gracefully accepted her fate and hopefully, after 5/1, she would’ve learned the answers to the mystery and now, we have a faith-filled reason to believe she is alright.

    Like

  16. Owakina Louis

    I believe there is a higher power.That higher power to me is God.It’s hard for me to believe that science makes everything prominent when there are some things that science cannot explain.I realized this 10 years ago when I was 8 years old.I was living in Haiti with my family when my big sister became very ill.Doctors informed my mom that she would be having seizures for the rest of her life and that she would become paralyzed.That horrific news left me devastated.I thought there was no hope.Little did I know God was not only testing us as a family but he was testing my faith because that was my best friend that was ill.I cried out to him hoping he would answer my prayers that whole night.As he says in Matthew 7:7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” I obeyed those words and knocked on his doors and he opened up and let me in.When my sister came home from the hospital she was more than fine she was energetic.Not paralyzed, no speech impediments .It was as if nothing was wrong.At that moment I knew there was a God.Since then My sister hasn’t had a seizure and is now happily married and has a child.God took what would be long term tears from my family and converted them into laughter.

    Like

  17. Mitchell Turney

    I Believe in the Belief in God

    I am a born-again Christian. I believe in God. With that comes a few “perks.” I am an optimist. I can always find light at the end of the tunnel even if it has yet to be detected. Life may be tough, but my God is tougher. I am fearless. It is my belief that He is on my side. I need not fear anything with Him by my side. He holds my future. I don’t have the time nor the will to distract myself from the joys of life by fearing that which ultimately cannot hurt me. I am never lonely. As a shy kid, I didn’t make a lot of friends. However, I never once felt alone. I believed God was always with me. God was the only friend I needed. In my loneliest hours, He was there to comfort me. He is always there to help me. I have a sense of self-worth. While others may try to put me down, my God does everything He can to pull me up. His love extended so far that He gave His life for me. It would be a disgrace to Him to not see me as He sees me. I may not be perfect, but the perfect Being loves me. Why shouldn’t I love me as well? Finding Christ changed my life. My faith defines me, and I can’t see myself without it. I believe that believing in God was the best thing that ever happened to me.

    Like

  18. Alaysha Rodriguez

    “I Believe in the Soul”

    I’ve grown to view the human spirit as a tall evergreen tree, standing tall in the vast atmosphere of the human intellect and emotion as it guides us through the day with its spiritual intuition. In my recent couple of years, I’ve been baffled on how much my inner spirit guides my decisions with extreme caution and resilience; In my adolescence, I did not believe that the soul to exist. My journey to finding my soul is something I shall never forget, because it has changed my morality into a cause that would transform me into a martyr in order to cherish and protect its lasting positive impact on my life.

    When I think back to my childhood, I think of a tall man with no particular features to him, blindfolding me as I walk down a road with multiple obstacles. This blindfold has not allowed me to see anything that would surpass the world’s materialistic lifestyle that my parents indented into my mindset. When you grow up with parents who come preset with a list of adjectives that do not include the words love or compassion, it becomes hard to see those key concepts in the world. As I grew older and shared my experiences, I realized that it was my soul that opened my eyes to the love and compassion that I was blinded to. My soul was the one thing that has guided me to finding the morals that I hold dear to my heart.

    Like

  19. Ashley Greenidge

    How one chooses to deal with negative experiences influences their life. Recognizing when one needs help may be difficult. However, there are ways out of a negative periods in life. I believe in a silver lining. With positive support systems, effort, and motivation, I believe everyone can find their silver lining.
    My sophomore year of high school, I was in an unhealthy relationship. Simultaneously, my father was laid off from his job placing a financial strain on my family. I turned to self harm to cope with these new emotions and changes. Close teachers and friends noticed a change in me. I met with my principal and he asked me, “When you go home today, will be a danger to yourself?” I was unable to answer honestly, and I knew something had to change.
    The week after, I ended the relationship. Poetry, music, and inspirational videos helped me escape my negative mental and emotional state. I spoke to people about my problems, and opened up slowly. I found my greatest relief in journal writing and creating collages of positive and inspirational pictures. Not only did this begin to ease the pain, it also helped me realize I am worth so much more than the actions I resorted to.
    I believe that no matter what life brings, everyone is able to find their silver lining. Regardless of the obstacles one may encounter to get there, the positive long term effects of changing one’s life for the better are the real success.

    Like

  20. Marah Delphonse

    Marah Delphonse
    “Now Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1
    I never was the type to like going to church. I hated waking up early Sunday mornings to go get dressed for the service. It’s not that I didn’t love God, I just didn’t like waking up. I was never into the church going seen, sometimes I just felt uncomfortable like I didn’t know what I was doing. I came to the realization that I didn’t need to go to church for me to believe in God or for me to know that God loved me. All I ever needed was faith. I believe that faith is something we all have inside of us. It’s something that is unteachable like falling in love, having happiness, or even just being angry. It comes to you when you start believing and I’ve always been a believer.
    Faith is just something that is just so unexplainable due to the fact for you to know what it is; you have to go through certain situations to figure out. I haven’t been in a situation where I could give a personal testimony on why I believe in faith so much, but I’ve heard so many stories on how people survived near death experiences and I just knew it was the faith of God, I believe it was the faith of God. It’s not having faith in yourself although you should, but it’s having faith in someone else that is a higher power than you. If you are able to let whoever you believe in take control of your life and help you guide through all of the ups and downs in your life, you will be truly blessed in life.

    Like

  21. Marah Delphonse

    Marah Delphonse
    “Now Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1
    I never was the type to like going to church. I hated waking up early Sunday mornings to go get dressed for the service. It’s not that I didn’t love God, I just didn’t like waking up. I was never into the church going scene, sometimes I just felt uncomfortable like I didn’t know what I was doing. I came to the realization that I didn’t need to go to church for me to believe in God or for me to know that God loved me. All I ever needed was faith. I believe that faith is something we all have inside of us. It’s something that is unteachable like falling in love, having happiness, or even just being angry. It comes to you when you start believing and I’ve always been a believer.
    Faith is just something that is just so unexplainable due to the fact for you to know what it is; you have to go through certain situations to figure out. I haven’t been in a situation where I could give a personal testimony on why I believe in faith so much, but I’ve heard so many stories on how people survived near death experiences and I just knew it was the faith of God, I believe it was the faith of God. It’s not having faith in yourself although you should, but it’s having faith in someone else that is a higher power than you. If you are able to let whoever you believe in take control of your life and help you guide through all of the ups and downs in your life, you will be truly blessed in life.
    One of my best friends told that “God tests you not to expose you to people, but to expose you to yourself. Faith has to be active if it’s not it’s just hope and hoping doesn’t get you anywhere in life if you don’t believe.” That really stuck with me because in life you don’t get anywhere just hoping that great things will happen to you. You have to BELIEVE in FAITH that great things will happen to you. It might not happen over night and it might not happen at all, but as long as you believe you will get pretty far in life with faith.
    “Faith is taking the first step even though you don’t see the whole staircase.” (MLK) You are always walking blind in life. You can have your whole day planned out, but God could have a different plan for you. You are walking in the dark and you are not able to see where you are going, but the definition of faith is letting it guide you through the darkness. You have to fully believe in the faith it will take care of you. You will stumble because feel like you’re losing control, but faith is there to pick you right back up and help you continue your journey.

    Like

  22. Nicole

    I believe in my God. I also believe in science. I believe there has to be something bigger in this world, universe than just the human population. The amount of bland faces I see everyday who drag themselves to a nine to five job and back home is outrageous. The amount of faces I see without food, water, clothes, and shelter is disgusting. Everyone is so frigid and selfish. Governments around the world are set up in ways which people are now living to work instead of working to survive.
    My beliefs have allowed me to believe that a person cannot be naturally “bad”. People are born innocent and equal but their environment influences whether one will be up or down in our society. Society is where everything gets messy, from racism, sexism, classism, ableism, to ageism. We live in a world where a person can be described as being “better” than someone else, and that can become depressing. For these reasons, I do my best to be good to people. I was raised to be kind, generous, humble, forgiving, and strong.

    Like

  23. Isaiah Christian

    What do you believe in? A question asked at one point or another in some one life. There is a bevy of answers to go along with this question, but let us make this answer more personal. So what do I believe in you may ask? Faith, I believe in faith. Starting off with some background about my family, they we’re raised up in a Christian household and were brought up learning about the bible and God. Which was later passed down to this generation. Reasons why I stand behind my faith, is because even when I was small God has been behind my family each step of the way. When I was younger we didn’t have much family didn’t have big jobs or any I thing like that but the Lord Provided for us. Growing up and seeing the opportunities He has put out in front of my family to allow us to succeed is true my amazing. I’ll tell you a personal story, one I’m still shocked that I survived. August 4th,2016, Around 12am I had finished work and was making my way home back to Canton from South Boston. While I am driving around 60 mph a drunk driver strikes my car from the back going fast enough to total my car that night. Yet somehow I never lost control, I did not hit any other cars nearby, and left the car accident untouched. This is one reason why I believe in my faith whole heartedly. God is an awesome God, who is all seeing I all powerful and looks out for his own when you least expect it sometimes.

    Like

  24. Reyna Matos

    I Bevelie in God
    I believe in God, the one who created us all. Created all living things among us and the world we live in. God is our friend, father and protector. Since I was a girl in my family i was taught to believe in God our Lord and the importance of going to church and praise the Lord. For my family and me is very important to have God in our lives, have faith in God and fully trust in him.
    Many doubt the existence of God, they wonder where he is and why can’t we see him, believing that he doesn’t exist. Therefore God say’s “You will seek me and find me; when you seek me with all your heart i will be found by you”. If you don’t look for God and communicate with him through prayers with heart in hand, you won’t find him. Communication with God is very important to be in communion and in peace , to bring wisdom to your Heart and have full joy and abundance of soul. God say’s “You may not know me, but i know everything about you” (Psalms:139:1). Meaning that he is there for you and watching over you, but you just need to call him and have faith in him.
    Believing that God exists is like believing that air exists. You can’t see the air but that doesn’t stop you from believing it exist because of its power, and you being able to feel it. Well believing in God is the same thing, yes we can’t see him but we believe in his power.

    Like

  25. Anaisha Eliassaint

    Anaisha Eliassaint

    This I Believe

    Over the years I have learned to believe in Faith, which mean that I have grown to believe that when things are at its worse that they will get better . When I’m weak to have faith that I will get up and when life has gotten me at my lowest point I will rise up. Growing up from a divorced family and as a single child my parents were doing the best they could to make sure I had all i needed to survive and get a good education . Growing up i lived with my mother for the longest time and when I turned thirteen i moved with my father which was all new to me, It was a different environment I had to learn how to adjust leaving with guy and a new step mother and a step sister. It was all strange to me because i was used to only my mother and I and no others. I learned to have faith in my prayers and in God because there were time only prayers worked for me. There came a year i had lost all faith i did not know who to rely on, i could not get along with my parents my grades were dropping and i could not help but feel alone. I did all i could but i still did not have faith neither in myself not anyone. Then I learned when i had faith in others and specially myself i could achieve anything i put my mind to.

    Like

  26. Mitchell Turney

    I Believe in the Belief in God
    I am a born-again Christian. I believe in God. With that comes a few “perks.” I am an optimist. I can always find light at the end of the tunnel even if it has yet to be detected. Life may be tough, but my God is tougher. I am fearless. It is my belief that He is on my side. I need not fear anything with Him by my side. He holds my future. I don’t have the time nor the will to distract myself from the joys of life by fearing that which ultimately cannot hurt me. I am never lonely. As a shy kid, I didn’t make a lot of friends. However, I never once felt alone. I believed God was always with me. God was the only friend I needed. In my loneliest hours, He was there to comfort me. He is always there to help me. I have a sense of self-worth. While others may try to put me down, my God does everything He can to pull me up. His love extended so far that He gave His life for me. It would be a disgrace to Him to not see me as He sees me. I may not be perfect, but the perfect Being loves me. Why shouldn’t I love me as well? Finding Christ changed my life. My faith defines me, and I can’t see myself without it. I believe that believing in God was the best thing that ever happened to me.

    Like

  27. Iretioluwa Johnson

    My whole life is based around my religion, Christianity. Believing in God or just believing is a core belief for me. Believing that there is a superior power that created everything and watches over everything is something that I find important for a person to do. For me that superior being is God and through trusting and believing in him I have been through things that I have been told I couldn’t do successfully that have come out successful. There are cases at which I couldn’t understand want was going on and I was extremely confused on what was going on and at the end of it, miraculously the whole issue was solved. How I came to understand that yes believing in God is something spectacular is when I was the youngest in my graduating class and to be honest probably the youngest in a few graduating classes in a few high schools. And that made me extremely happy because through believing in myself that I could do anything I put my heart to and also believing in God I got through high school. Belief in oneself can also take people to higher places, believing in yourself and understanding that whatever you put your heart to and work hard for you will get. Belief is accepting something and assuring oneself that it is true and it will come to pass. These are the great things that belief in oneself and in God or a higher form of power can give.

    Like

  28. Osahenrumwen Egharevba

    Growing up, religion was just as important as breathing. It was taboo to not pray before a meal, as it was not to pray every morning before school and every night before bed. These religious practices were the norm; I never questioned them because everyone around me held religion with great importance. Ever since I could remember, one thing that I took from Christianity was the power of faith; always believing in God no matter the circumstance. I found this to be most valuable during the most difficult time of my

    When a car hit my father in September of 2014, he was in coma for three months and obtained a serious brain injury. It was as though Massachusetts General became our first home, because we were constantly there, and at times, slept on the chairs in the ICU department. After several weeks, the doctor sat down with us and said that my father may not make it, and cautioned that even if he did survive, he would not be mentally the same. My brother told the doctors to do their best, and leave the rest to God.

    My faith was not wasted—my father, the man that was cast in the hands of devious death, is still alive today. This is the man that I get to wake up every day seeing. This the man that can breathe, walk, blink, and behave as one who is conscious of his surroundings. The point is I believe in believing—I believe in faith.

    Like

  29. Stacy Salvant

    Uh…where do I start, God’s grace towards me has been so great and undeserved that I don’t even know where to start. Growing up, I was always surrounded by the word. Church was a place of comfort. I’ve been memorizing verses since I was little. I never doubted or question my faith because I knew he was all I had. Now, I am not saying I’m perfect or that I am the good Christian girl. It couldn’t be further from the truth. We are all sinners. As I’m getting older, my faith has been tested multiple times. I realized there was more than praying and knowing that he is God. It’s very important to build a relationship with him. A relationship with God is the most powerful tool to have. He got me through all the hard times in life. I had to learn how to fully surrender to Christ for he knows best. I try to control my life at times or worry about the things ahead, but what did he say in Matthew 6:25? “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothes?” All I needed to do was to trust because he promised to take care of me. This I believe that God’s love is unconditional, it has no limits. My God is awesome; through him there is eternal life. Knowing his love for a sinner like makes me feel so special. There are times when I feel low, worthless, or not good enough. I then remind myself that the same God whom had place the stars in the sky, knows them by name, had created me in his image. My worth is in Christ and in Christ only. That should go for everybody, you’re perfect just the way you are. Do not let the world define you as said in 2 Timothy 1:7 “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power and of love, and of a sound mind.” I give him my all because his grace is enough for me. I pray that the world sees the beauty in following Jesus Christ. The world is just getting worse therefore we have to hold on tight to God. No matter how hard the struggle he will get you out, for he already knows the solution to the problems. He loves us and he always will. “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”- Philippians 4:6-7

    Like

  30. Angela Gathii

    This I believe in my religion. When I was young, my mom took me to church, read the bible to me, and we watched bible stories on TV. I loved learning about God and how he created this world. There are so many different stories to related from our history. For generations, my family have been worshiping God. Some of the people in family don’t go to church but my family keeps on praying that they do. I loved how dedicated my life is when it comes to God. I pray every night with my mom and I love it because she always tells me that I am doing well. I understand that other people don’t believe in God but I don’t judge them for that because it’s ok. Many believe in their own religion but what concerns me is that today’s society outcast them because of the terrorist attacks. I go to church every Sunday and I learn more and more about the stories in the bible. Personally, I think no one should be judged badly or be killed because of one’s strong belief. My family always encourage me to pray, worship, and love God. My belief is how I am today and the future. I want to tell other people that there is a God and I know that he will always be by my side at all times. I want to be a wonderful person who trust and believes in God. This what I believe in my life.

    Like

  31. Magnelande Zetrenne

    I believe in the God.
    As times has shown, there is no belief without faith in what you believe. As a child whose existence is purely against medical research of that time, my faith in the Lord was crafted early not only by my parents but also what I endured. For as long as I can remember I was God’s little miracle, and after many years and my experiences with the Lord my faith in Him has only grown.
    There are many reasons why I believe in the Lord, and like many who do believe I can state many reasons why. However, one concept that holds importance to me is the fact that there is nothing that can hold you back from receiving the Lord’s love. As it is said the Lord loves all of us, no matter the race, size, or circumstances. There is no racism, sexism, favoritism, or anything else of that sort there is just love; and in this time and age where everything and everyone is put under a microspore to be analyzed like a science experiment, I think that concept is something that is crucial to know and holds close. To acknowledge that a being so great could love you unconditionally just for being yourself is a feeling that is all too important not to have. With this knowledge of how this love is so unconditional and the Lord’s words of loving your neighbor as yourself, it leaves no room to hold darkness into your heart for any reason at all.
    I love, have faith, and believe in the God because I know He loves me just for me and so much more.

    Like

Comments are closed.