71 thoughts on “Goals

  1. Elyse Porter

    When I first saw the category “goals” under what I believe in, I thought of all my goals in life and how it would be an easy topic to write about. I started to write about what my goals were and how they have motivated me to get through High School and eventually through College. After finishing the essay I realized that I did believe in goals and how they helped me achieve a lot in the past, but that was not something I wanted to write about. I want to write about something I feel strong about and something that I believe should change. If you scroll down your Twitter, Instagram or Facebook newsfeeds, you will most likely come across a picture of a really attractive couple with the caption saying “goals”. If you go down your Tumblr newsfeed, you will most likely find pictures of beautiful girls with “perfect” bodies and flawless skin. The media has brainwashed us into thinking all of these famous supermodels are “goals” and that everyone should want to look like them. I believe that the media has made our generation have more self-confidence issues and body image problems than ever before. Everyone always wants to be skinnier, better looking, nicer, funnier, smarter, etc. But the truth is, there will always be someone skinnier, better looking, nicer, funnier and smarter than you. I have never felt comfortable in my own body my entire life. My biggest goal in life is to be happy and confident in who I am. I want to feel comfortable in my own body and not compare myself to other people. I believe that everyone is beautiful and perfect in their own way and once everyone realizes this, the world will be a better place.

    Like

  2. Bailey Zindle

    I believe that hard work can pay off by putting in a lot of effort and dedication into what you are doing. I would consider hard work being a goal, because people can strive for it and try to be the best in certain areas. Like at school, people put in a lot of hard work to be a good student and get good grades, they study a lot, do homework and everything to make them a better student. Also in the work environment, people try their best at what they do to get that promotion or a raise from their managers. When I was around twelve or thirteen years old, I would work with my dad a lot during the summer and winter to earn some money. My dad has always taught me that, if you work hard at something you enjoy, then do your best and strive to do even better. During my junior year of high school, I got a job at a movie theater and I always made sure I did my best around my peers and managers. My managers noticed on how hard I was working and they eventually gave me a raise. I continued to work their until after I graduated high school, it was tough to work and go to school some days, because I would have to work late and some days not be able to do homework and such. But I managed to get good grades for me to be able to graduate, I worked extremely hard during work and high school to make my parents happy. My goal was to work hard and to be benefited by it, which I was and I am proud for what I have done. If you have a goal that required dedication and hard work, go for it, don’t sit around and let the opportunity come towards you, you have to earn it and work for it.

    Like

  3. I believe everything has a place, and a place for everything; either the things be tucked tightly away in a closet, wandering around lost, or a little bit of both. My room is the perfect example of the ying and yang of harmony. With lone pair socks on the floor, smelly t-shirts on chairs, and dressers and desks filled with materials, which are so essential to my existence, that I never threw them away. My walls are sky blue with shelves filled with nick knacks and pictures of friends. My bed is as soft as it is unmade. Although my room is messy, it is very much clean. If anyone asked me to find the most obscure thing that I own, I could find it in a heartbeat. My room is organized too, as if I put things in places to help out my future self. Paper and pencils were next to my bed for a late night or early morning homework session and my dresser stuffed, with memorabilia from everything I love. With papers on top of books and pencils and pens scattered.Every so often I would clean my room and the socks would find their mates and the smelly shirts would be the good kind of smelly. The floor would only be visible for a limited amount of time though. I believe I am an organized person who loves to categorize binder and papers by size and color. I believe I am a planner who knows what I need and where and when I would need it. I believe everything has a place and a place for everything, whether that place be illogical or logical it makes sense to me and that’s all that matters.

    Like

  4. Ne'tayjah Cassamajor

    I believe that having goals are important in life because it motivates you to want to do better for yourself. I remember being a young child watching my elders and my tv shows, and I used to tell myself “Im going to have a big house and car just like them when I get older.” Ever since then I have always aspired to be a doctor of some sort. My mom always told me doctors make the most money and that I need to get straight A’s in school so that I could pass my tests and get my MD. Now, I am eighteen and attending the university of Dartmouth so that I can do just that! Having my career goals in mind helped me in high school because I knew that I had to get good grades in order to be accepted into a great college that would get me where I wanted to be in my life. I believe that anyone can achieve their goals if they’re really motivated and put time and effort into their goals. It does not matter if you’re parents are rich or if they are poor, as long as you put your mind into your cause you will be successful. I’ve seen plenty of teenagers that have come from nothing and have been shot down from anyone they tried to seek help from, and still prevailed through college and their adult years. Life is what you make it, and as long as you have a set goal you can achieve it because nothing is impossible.

    Like

  5. Shari A. Pike

    I believe in, in order to succeed at our goals, we must fail. We must not only fail once but enough times to feel like the whole world is just against you. I believe that once we have set goals for ourselves we must burst through the flames of disappointment, resentfulness, failure, and humiliation. We cannot simply set a goal and expect it to come find its way to you, but find our way to it. Simply, goals are set to challenge us, to see if we really are infused with the ambition that we swear by.
    Our goals are life lessons that open our eyes to greater and better things. They are magnificent, almost foreshadows how our future will present itself. I believe our goals set forth a new life that could open us to new findings and beginnings, or even bring a close to the endless journey one might be on. I for one believe that every goal that I’ve set to complete has either made me take a different route in life or keep walking on the same path that seems its going in the right direction. Would we be who we are if it wasn’t for all the times we determined to prosper and fight our way through? I believe that we need to remember that some goals aren’t going to happen in a matter of minutes, but in a matter of days, weeks, months and sadly years! But just remember when we’re sitting down and remembering all the wounds that are now healed, all the obstacles that are overturned with great power we made our goals into reality.

    Like

  6. Nevan Fish

    To start lets define what a goal is. Is it a start and end point in which you push yourself to complete, or is it rather a vision a person plans to commit to and succeed? In my opinion a goal is just a simple checkpoint in life. This is a vision or idea that you set to work towards. Whether it is becoming the next greatest athlete or if its simply to get to class on time they are all the same thing. In the end they are just imaginary milestones in your life. Lets take for example a senior who just graduated high school. Now its the real world or thats what everyone keeps telling him/her. Get an education. Get a job. Start a family. So what does the high school graduate do? He starts at step one, get an education. His first goal is to finish the next step in his learning process which will sharpen his skills for the work force. So in fact his goal is to finish school to become lets say a doctor. Now the next step, becomming a doctor. he has just completed his first set goal which will help drastically in his overall vision of becoming a doctor. But now he needs to set a new “finish line”. Pople set goals to push themselves to succeed. Telling themselves that becoming a doctor will make them a lot of money will push them to succeed. But a goal can be anything. They do not have to be realistic, you do not need to reach your goal, and you certainly can change your goals. My goal when I was 8 was to be the president and I gurantee I’m not the only one. But what happened? my goal changed. When I became a freshman in high school my goal was to complete all my homework, and by the end of senior year it was to complete college. Some day I gurantee my goal will be to start a buisness or maybe just to make money to put food on the table. So goals do not always need to be far fetched or take a lot of time to complete, but it is very important to have a goal. If its just one or if its a thousand, a goal is personal and for you and only you.

    Like

  7. Basel Abo-Sharkh

    I have been building myself goals for my entire life. Having a goal helps me ignore all the problems that I have in my life. Life is filled with obstacles that may make stop you. But having a goal makes you look beyond that barrier and know that achieving your goal is always worth it. Moving to America was an achievement that made me more persistent on hunting my goals. My next goal in life is being a successful student in college and I am going to put all my concentration to getting there.

    Moving from Saudi Arabia was a big step for me, I had to leave most my family and beloved one behind just to achieve a goal that I have built for myself. Being new as a senior in high school was not easy. Getting to know people was even harder. But I never gave up because I would always be looking at the price. After moving to America and getting familiar with the area everything became way simpler and my childhood goal was achieved, but was that enough? I had to find a new goal to fight for.

    Going to dental school was always something on my mind. I knew that it wouldn’t be easy, but the harder the goal the better the price. My next goal was something that I would have to work harder than I ever had before and that is a challenge that I am ready to face.

    Like

  8. Yasmeen Elaywan

    Anytime I see news on what’s going on in the world, whether it’s about the Syrian refugee crisis or any other humanitarian crisis, I have this terribly strong urge to take out my debit card, research what organizations are responsible for humanitarian aid on those areas, and donate to those organizations.That’s why I don’t watch the news often- I’d have to be made of money in order to do so, since donating gives me the satisfaction of doing something about the disturbing things I see on the news. My parents often mock me when I watch the news with them and start doing my research, and often if I ask about something that I heard was on the news they don’t tell me. Most of my other family members, as well as others, also roll their eyes at me. I started to notice since middle school that in most people’s’ eyes being mature means being able to accept the bad things that go on in the world. Most of my peers and the adults in my life were telling me that to be an adult you have to be able to look away when others are being hurt, and to accept the ridiculous notion that you have no way of doing anything for others.
    There is a difference between really knowing what you can and cannot do something for someone, and being a simple bystander by being indifferent to what goes on around yourself and saying ‘hey, what can I do? I can’t do anything’. And if being an adult means being a bystander then I believe in being childish, as long as that means I have the fresh sense of curiosity to ask myself ‘what can I do?’.

    Like

  9. Robert Hamilton

    Goals are some of the best things to have in life. Whether big or small, they are apart of everyone’s lives whether you know it or not. To me, a goal is an aspiration or desire that you wish to accomplish or achieve. Many goals are set by people in order to pave their way to a better, happier, and a much more successful future. It is important to understand that although it is important to set goals for yourself, it is also paramount that people dedicate themselves to their goals to attain what it is that they desire. Me, for instance, I want to compete in track and field, while also learning to become a mechanical engineer. These are goals that I have set for myself in order to give me something to work towards. The great thing about goals is that they expand from each other. Incessantly setting goals for yourself prevents complacency. In track and field, I set a goal for myself to reach a certain distance in triple jump. Now that I’m in college, I can set another goal that reaches even further than the one I set before. People also say that studying mechanical engineering while taking up a sport is almost near impossible, but it’s my goal to do both, and I won’t stop there. I’ll keep bettering myself, as should everyone else. If you’re not happy with where you are. If you’re depressed, feeling alone, or feeling any other negative feelings, set a goal for yourself to do better.

    Like

  10. Lauriano Barros

    I think that goals and success are linked together. By reaching your first goal, that means that you had to step out of your comfort zone and as many says “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone”, which leads to the fact the when a goal is reached that’s another step added to your long walk to success. I believe that goals is what defines your life and without it, we are just a “nobody”, but that doesn’t mean that we won’t prioritize priorities first because we have a goal. If you have a goal in life to be something, that won’t and can’t never be changed. I remember me growing up as a kid in the streets of “Bila Baxu, Sao Filipe”, my town back in cape Verde, my friends and I would go look for a tin to make a toy, but I couldn’t make an airplane because I wasn’t capable enough to beat the gravity so I had to change my priorities and play with cars instead of an airplane. I never stopped thinking for a second on being a pilot one day because that was my only goal in life as a kid. When the time came for me to choose the classes that would focus on my college career while in high school, I chose the ones that were directly related with me being a pilot, but those priorities also changed later on.
    When I moved to U.S.A in 2012, I was only a year away to finish high school, but when I came here the administration of my high school gave me a test and decided that I would have to start from a 9th grade again because it was the high school policy and from that moment on my priorities changed again. I learned that sometimes you have to put your goals aside a bit and focus on priorities in order for you to reach your goal later on in life. As a kid, I thought I could dream, but sometimes those dreams takes time to become reality, but it’s OK because I know that before I die I will put my kid dreams in reality, which is becoming a pilot.

    Like

  11. Matt DeFrias

    Everyone has their individual goals to achieve their dreams. In order to accomplish your goals you must work hard. You must have good motivation and work ethic. You can’t half a** these things. Maybe you can get away with that in high school but in college, this is the start of your journey. A fresh start to a new chapter in your life. My recent goal that I achieved was graduating high school. Never have I imagined of me graduating and becoming a young adult. The feeling of accomplishment that I had that day is something I will never forget. Achieving a milestone like that keeps you motivated and focused. You feel on top of the world to only start at the bottom again, being a freshman in college. You work for that feeling again. But goals don’t always have to be physical things. It can be mental as well. One of my goals is to be happy in life. To sit back and feel proud of the things that I have done. To live and experience the most of the world. To become the best person I can be. Some days it’s tough to be at your best. A tough day can test you and that’s OK because these obstacles only make you a stronger person. You are going to come across obstacles and haters but again these things only make you stronger. The more these things like this that you face, the more motivated you are. More goals would be to find what career I want to choose based on what I like. That’s a hard goal to accomplish for a young adult. At this point in time we don’t know who we really are. That’s something everyone has to figure out for themselves. If you ask a kid what they want to be they always give you an answer, without much thought. Ask someone much older and they’re more hesitant. As we get older the answers always change until at some point we don’t even know the answer. That’s what makes this objective more tricky to accomplish. After that goals don’t stop in your life. New ones will always appear throughout our lives. Two goals above all else, is to be #1 to be happy, happiness and positivity is what makes life and those difficult moments easier to withstand and #2 to be successful. Goals is what keeps life interesting, so don’t give up no matter how big the dream is.

    Like

  12. Michelle Alphonso

    My mother always said to me “Before you ever open your mouth to tell others what someone did wrong to you, remind yourself of something good they did for you, it’ll be the easiest way to forgive them and move on.” Forgiveness is power. I remember the day I found out that my grandparents were getting a divorce. It was like everything I was ever taught about love was a lie. “You learn to compromise for the ones you love”, “love is hard but it’s worth it”, “if you love something you fight for it”. Theses were all things I grew up believing to be true, so when my grandparents decided to give up on each other and to give up on all the lessons they were trying to ingrain into me, I was devastated. For a very long time after my grandparents divorced, all I did was complain about how they were hypocrites, and how bitter I was about the split. Their relationship was my goal. I wanted to be just like them. Loving, family-oriented, and invested in each other. I had treated both my grandmother and grandfather terribly after they divorced because I was angry. When my grandfather died I knew I had lost every opportunity to tell him and show him how much I loved him because I did. It has taken me over three years to learn to forgive myself for not showing him how much I actually loved him despite my anger. The older I grew the more my mother’s forgiveness statement made sense to me. I believe that we need to become professional forgivers. When you forgive you feel free. Many love to say “I forgive but I don’t forget”. Forgiveness is not forgetting in what way you were hurt but rather setting your heart free from the pain. We often latch onto the control we feel when we are owed an apology so we say we forgive but we won’t forget. I have made it my personal goal to become a personal forgiver because the last thing I want to do is live with the guilt of not forgiving someone and never being able to tell them they were forgiven.

    Like

Comments are closed.